Program Notes

This composition is inspired by Dr. Naomi Oreskes’ work which examines the history of scientific doubters in relation to increasing climate change.

This ensemble is influenced by the recordings of Eric Dolphy and Ron Carter, but this composition should not be approached as “jazz.” Tempo markings are suggested. The composition should feel at ease at the start and the walking basslines should suggest various levels of confidence.

-Yvette Janine Jackson


Yvette Janine Jackson, composer
Naomi Oreskes, History of Science


Christina Castellanos, flute
Katie Porter, bass clarinet
Viktor Uzur, cello
Jens Tenbroek, bass